top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatrina Dutt

Cajeta, my darling

I sit, the sugar burning the insides of my mouth. The sharpness of the sweetness surprises me. We often ignore how sweet sugar is. Cajeta, my darling Janet, is so sweet with so little added sugar. The goat milk and sugar just get simmered down. Reduced to nothing but that sweetness. Even the vanilla recedes to the background while the sweetness steals the show. I like the goat-y-ness of it; Janet’s was a little too strong on the cinnamon and not as goaty. I like the funkiness. I like the audacity to be something other than cow’s milk in this age of cows, oats, and almonds. Who knew oats could be milked?



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Highway 70

The golden hills slope smoothly like the lithe lines of a hairless cat’s body. No sagebrush dot this form. The shadows rest in the nooks...

Comments


bottom of page